The BNP Paribas Open releases world class entry lists

January 29, 2015

The BNP Paribas Open, held March 9-22, 2015 at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, has released its entry lists, which are highlighted by 11 former BNP Paribas Open and 12 Grand Slam Singles Champions.

The announcement of the 2015 BNP Paribas Open entry lists kicks off a six-week countdown to the 40th anniversary of the Southern California tennis tournament. From humble beginnings back in 1976 at Mission Hills in Palm Springs, to the largest WTA and ATP World Tour combined two-week event in the world, the event has grown exponentially. The 2015 edition will see more than 300 of the world’s best players descend on Indian Wells and compete for more than $10 million in prize money in front of over 400,000 fans.

BNPPO list

The men’s entry list is led by World No. 1, seven-time Grand Slam Champion and Defending BNP Paribas Open Champion Novak Djokovic (2008, 2011, 2014), 17-time Grand Slam Champion and World No. 2 Roger Federer (2004-2006, 2012), and 14-time Grand Slam Champion and World No. 3 Rafael Nadal (2007, 2009, 2013). In addition, all of the remaining top 10 ranked players are entered, including Stan Wawrinka (4), Kei Nishikori (5), Andy Murray (6), Tomas Berdych (7), Milos Raonic (8), Marin Cilic (9) and David Ferrer (10).

On the women’s side, the entry list is led by World No. 2, five-time Grand Slam Champion and former two-time BNP Paribas Open Champion Maria Sharapova (2006, 2013). She is joined by a number of former BNP Paribas Open Champions including World No. 5 Ana Ivanovic (2008), No. 8 Caroline Wozniacki (2011), Defending BNP Paribas Open Champion and No. 12 Flavia Pennetta, Jelena Jankovic (2010), Victoria Azarenka (2012), Daniela Hantuchova (2002, 2007) and Vera Zvonareva (2009). Top 10 tennis players also on the entry list include Simona Halep (3), Petra Kvitova (4), Agnieszka Radwanska (6), Angelique Kerber (9) and Dominika Cibulkova (10).

“Over the past 40 years, the BNP Paribas Open has developed into one of the world’s best sporting events, and a significant reason for that success is the fact that the best players in the world annually come to Indian Wells,” said Steve Simon, the tournament director. “This year our fans can once again look forward to seeing past BNP Paribas Open Champions such as Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Maria Sharapova, Ana Ivanovic, and Caroline Wozniacki, along with hundreds of other world-class tennis players.”

BNP Paribas is proud to support another edition of the tournament known as the Grand Slam of the West. The Group, which has over 40 years of partnership with tennis, has been the title sponsor of the BNP Paribas Open since 2009.


Learn more about BNP Paribas’s commitment to the tennis community

View the full BNP Paribas Open 2015 entry lists